Brite Winter Festival

I was able to speak directly with the sound engineer about using a splitter to record the performance.  He let me know that using the Zoom Handheld recorder would be easier on him.  I set up about an hour and half before Austin’s set using a Left and Right output from the board as well as using the Zoom’s internal microphones.  Overall the sound turned out pretty well but there aren’t many changes I can make to the tracks since it is only a left and right feed as opposed to individual instruments.  Also, because I recorded the main outputs all of the engineers EQ, compression and processing effects were recorded onto the audio files.  I obviously can not remove these so I am not sure that I will be able to use this for my Location Recording project.  However Austin was very grateful that I was able to record a live version of his set.

Leave a Reply

