Bass Overdubs

February 23rd, 2017

Today I recorded bass guitar with Charise. I had seen Charise perform in the Tri-C Black Box Showcase at the end of last semester.  She made her playing seem so effortless so I knew I wanted to work with her.  I spent a couple of weeks asking around to see if anyone knew how I could get in contact with her.  She was excited to work on the songs and was able to learn the parts by ear.

We recorded through the TLAudio M4 board.  She brought in her own bass guitar that we ran through the SWR Workman bass guitar.  I have not had a lot of experience with miking bass guitar amps so I wanted to shootout a few microphones to see what I liked better.  I chose the Shure SM 57, the Electro Voice RE20 and the AKG D112.  Each microphone was placed about halfway between the amp dust cap and the edge cone.  I also used a Country Man D.I. to make sure I had a clean signal in case I didn’t like the sounds I got from the microphone.

Amp Edit
Enter a caption

 

I intended to run my mic lines through the Vintech pre-amps but I ran into the same problem that I had when recording drums.  There was a noise that seemed to be coming through the pre-amp or the patch bay so I opted out of using them and used the boards pre-amp instead.  Charise was well prepared and was able to knock out the bass parts for both songs in a few takes.

Original Mic Input Sheet
Original Patch Sheet

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

